Skip to content


DigitalPoint users being phished again

Looks like those naughty phishers are at it again on DigitalPoint, one of the internet’s largest webmaster forums. Some users have had their accounts phished, these in turn are being used to phish others and then to scam users out of websites, domains and money via the free marketplace.

The basic method is to set up a site that looks identical to DigitalPoint just as happens with Paypal or banking sites, then to get users to visit the site and enter their login details. As with spam emails that attempt to steal banking information users are duped into clicking on a link that on the surface appears legitimate but actually takes the user to the phishing site where they are required to enter their login information thus giving the bad guys complete control of the DP user’s account.

The links are generally formatted using BB code so they appear at first glance as legitimate links –
[url="http://www.bad-guy-site.com"]

http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=881392

[/url]
which appears on the surface as
http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=881392
but obviously takes the unsuspecting member to the phishing site (unlike this link).

So look out DigitalPoint users – you are being targeted!

Posted in Uncategorized.


0 Responses

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.

You must be logged in to post a comment.